Hearts and Flowers

My Top 5 Valentine Gift List

So, it’s 13th Febrruary and everywhere you look there is a reminder that tomorrow is Valentine’s Day.  I can’t say it’s my favourite time of year. Yes I am single but that’s not why I am saying I’m not a huge fan. Even when I’ve been in a relationship I have said exactly the same thing. I just wanted to clear that fact up before anyone thinks this is just a cynic a single girls blog to bash romance. No – I just think, something that should be fun can get seriously out of hand and over the top and people feel pressured to do the perfect thing.

If someone wanted to show me an extravagant romantic gesture – I’d probably not be that impressed but at least do it at at other time of the year and not the one day everyone is trying to do the same.

Ok – so now that mini rant is out of the way, back to the point of today’s blog post – a last minute gift guide for those who will be hitting the shops tonight. A list of top 5 things which most girls would love.

1. PROSECCO, CHOCOLATES & FLOWERS:

Ok, so maybe it’s the fail safe cliched option but most girls I know would be happy with it and it doesn’t cost the earth.

My Prosecco recommendation would be Sainsburys Taste The Difference Concegliano, currently £8.00 per bottle. The chocolate I would usually go for something simple, like Dairy Milk but in keeping with the Valentine theme and just because the pink packaging is fabulous, Lindt Lindor Strawberries and Cream. Finally, the flowers – it’s so easy to spend a fortune on flowers imageat this time of the year so instead I am recommending Morrisons Mixed Bunch of Roses, currently on sale for £5 per bunch.  In fact, I even treated myself to these at the weekend and you can see from the image that these are good flowers. (I also treated myself to the Chocolates and Prosecco mentioned too so can the recommendations do come from personal choice and tasting – I can’t recommend them without trying after all!!)

2. JEWELLERY

If jewellery is your gift of choice, no one offers greater selection for Valentine’s than Pandora – they even make it easy by offering a Valenine’s Day 2017 Collection – need I say more. Again, a range of budgets so doesn’t have to be overly expensive.

Next option on the jewellery list is a very feminine, pretty watch from Fossil. You can see I’m following. Bit of a pink theme here.

3. TECHNOLOGY

Not every lady will appreciate a technology gift but for those who would, these headphones from Sony are a good option, they are the MDR-ZX110 model and are imageanother recent purchase by me and again sticking with the pink theme. These were just over £14 from Amazon and I think they are fabulous. I bought them as my usual in ear ones were hurting so I was looking for a decent pair of over ear ones with a good sound but not too expensive. These definitely fit that bill and come recommended by me.

4. DINNER

An age old favourite but if staying in is the new going out then why not cook something special, either from scratch if you are good in the kitchen or save time and hassle and go for a meal deal – the Marks and Spencer Dine in for 2 for £20 is a great value deal and even comes with Prosecco and Chocolates. It’s a full menu choice so there’s bound to be something for everyone here.

5. THE GIFT THAT KEEPS ON GIVING

Do something unique that lasts for more than a day. Notes in a jar is a fun and easy way to show you care, it also shows you’ve taken time to think about it. This can be as elaborate or as simple as you make it. You could go for a jar with a note for every day for a year, with each note being a message of encouragement or something simple to show you care. You could opt for a note per month with a pre arranged date plan. Each date could range from meals, tickets to a show or concert, cinema or something as simple as a walk in the park or along the beach. This gift is only as good as your own imagination but is a great way to show you care.

So – there it is, my top 5 recommendations for tomorrow. I have deliberately opted for things on this list which don’t break the bank. As I said at the beginning, I’m not a fan of over elaborate Valentine’s Gifts and I think this list is a good guide for that.

Enjoy Valentine’s Day whether in a relationship or not and if not, then who needs a man to buy them things, think of this list as a guide to a top 5 that any girls would enjoy and go out an treat yourself, I certainly have bought many of this list myself in the past week.

For me, the 14th will be like any other day and the biggest cuddles will be from my puppy and I couldn’t be happier about that.

Happy Valentine’s.

Love Polly. xxx

Leave a Reply

