The Soundtrack of Life

Everyone has a soundtrack – what’s yours?

By that question, I mean, we all have songs which resonate or mean something to us at various stages of our lives. I know I do – some of them I still love, some I would probably happily archive away to the realms of my own history along with some decidedly dodgy outfits, which were the height of fashion at the time. I digress though, tonight’s blog is about the music, not the fashion.

I do have a love of music and always have done which I guess comes from my parents always having music on around the house as I grew up. My taste though is varied and can’t be pinned down to one style or even artist.

One of my earliest memories as a child is singing along to tapes (yes – remember cassettes) of Crystal Gayle. I fell in love with that music even then. My love of country still exists but there were a few steps along the way to get me back to that genre, so more of that later. I have music on a lot throughout the course of the day from the radio to get ready in the morning, to singing along in the car all they way to work and back again and even during the work day itself.

So – onto the start of my music journey. I picked up on a lot of my older sister’s musical tastes in the 1980’s – Duran Duran, Spandau Ballet and Wham. My love of Wham extended to George Michael as a solo singer but one of my favourite songs has to be Freedom by Wham which featured in a later stage of my life as a particularly good party tune during a family holiday – so the soundtrack really does feature well throughout life.

There were the early years of developing my own musical taste, at which time I was an avid fan of the music which came out of the Stock, Aitken and Waterman factory. Rick Astley, Kylie Minogue and Jason Donovan being the favourites there. My favourite songs of that time were – It Would Take Strong Strong Man by Rick Astley, Too Many Broken Hearts by Jason Donovan and Better The Devil You Know by Kylie.  I guess for a good dance song, I still love a bit of Kylie and I do have tickets to see Rick Astley next month so some things we never grow out of.  Also during this time I thought Tiffany and Debbie Gibson were the height of cool.

Then I moved onto Wet Wet Wet then the boybands of Take That, Boyzone and Westlife. The only ones left behind there being Boyzone and Westlife as I do still listen to the other two and I think I have lost count of the number of times I have seen Wet Wet Wet in concert.  Not sure I could pick a favourite of any of those though.

Throughout each stage I have always loved older music. Including, rock n roll, Elvis, The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Fleetwood Mac and The Eagles.

Also mixed in with all of that is a love of musicals and musical theatre – I did say my tastes were varied.

My next phase included some solo artists such as James Morrison and Paloma Faith and more recently a love for Jack Savoretti – I love his voice. What I love about all three of them is that they don’t follow the norm.

My most recent tastes though go back to the first genre I mentioned in this post – country. My current playlists consist mostly of Reba Mcentire, Lady Antebellum, Alan Jackson, Martina McBride, Faith Hill and Tim McGraw. As well as each soundtrack to the Nashville TV series.

So I guess our tastes might change over time, as does the delivery mechanism with the above all being played on cassette, vinyl, CD and now wirelessly streamed to my speakers.

We might never revisit some of the music we loved in our youth but for me, each album by the artists mentioned meant something to me at different stages of my life – school, university, break-ups and now contentment and happiness in the life I am in.

My tastes might move on again but right now, I am happy that I could create a playlist of songs by all of the artists mentioned in this post and know that each one would conjure up an image for me of a different time of my life. I think that’s what is so truly great about music. Each song is a snapshot of a time and place and hearing it can take us right back there in a second – sometimes from the first beat. Those artists mentioned here might not be considered the coolest bands in the world, none were ever going to be the bad boys of the music world but at one point or another, they have all been my favourites. That’s what is also so great – musical taste is a purely personal thing and that’s how it should be.

So back to my original question – What’s Your Soundtrack?

Love Polly. xxx

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Steve says:

    What a great musical journey. Love the reference to all things 80s with SAW. I recently published a similar themed post but it was more specific to how my soundtrack was all Kylie songs. Love Kylie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Steve. I think most males I know would undoubtedly agree with you on the Kylie front.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

